REPORT OF LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE

(SPECIAL) MEETING HELD ON 16 MAY 2005

Chair: * Councillor Idaikkadar

Councillors: Arnold

* Mrs Bath * Billson * Blann * Branch * Choudhury

Janet Cowan

* John Nickolay* O'Dell* Ray

Dharmaraiah

Ann Groves Knowles

Vina Mithani

PART I - RECOMMENDATIONS - NIL

PART II - MINUTES

56. Appointment of Chair:

RESOLVED: To note the appointment under the provisions of Council Procedure Rule 1.1 (xii) at the Annual Council meeting, held on 12 May 2005, of Councillor Idaikkadar as Chair of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2005/06.

57. Attendance by Reserve Members:

RESOLVED: To note that no Reserve Members were included in the Committee's membership.

58. **Appointment of Vice-Chair:**

Councillors Ann Groves and Knowles respectively were nominated to the office of Vice-Chair. Upon a vote, it was

RESOLVED: To appoint Councillor Ann Groves as Vice-Chair of the Committee for the Municipal Year 2005/06.

59. **Declarations of Interest:**

RESOLVED: To note that no declarations of interests were made in relation to the business on the agenda.

60. Arrangement of Agenda:

RESOLVED: That all items on the agenda be considered with the press and public present.

61. Minutes:

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the previous meeting held on 7 March 2005, be deferred until the next ordinary meeting of this Committee.

62. <u>Establishment of Sub Committee and Panels 2005-06:</u>

Further to the nominations now submitted by the political Groups in respect of this Committee's subsidiary body memberships and to the office of Chairs as appropriate, it was

RESOLVED: That the Licensing and General Purposes Sub-Committee and Panels be established for the Municipal Year 2005/06 with the memberships and Chairs as detailed in the appendix to these Minutes.

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 6.30 pm, closed at 6.35 pm).

^{*} Denotes Member present

APPENDIX

LICENSING AND GENERAL PURPOSES PANELS

(Membership in order of political group nominations)

<u>Labour</u> <u>Conservative</u> <u>Liberal</u> <u>Democrats</u>

(1) CHIEF OFFICER APPOINTMENTS PANEL (5)

(3) [(2) Voluntary] (1) [From Labour Group allocation] (2) 1. Leader of Group 1. Leader of Group 1. Leader of Group Members (Councillor N Shah (Councillor C Mote or (Councillor Miss Lyne or nominee) (CH) nominee) or nominee) 2. Deputy Leader of the 2. Deputy Leader of the Group <u>Group</u> (Councillor D Ashton or (Councillor Dighé or

nominee).

(2) EARLY RETIREMENT SUB-COMMITTEE (3) (Non-proportional)

(2)

nominee).

<u>I.</u> <u>Members</u>	Bluston (CH)	Knowles	Branch
II. <u>Reserve</u>	1. 2.	1. Mrs Bath 2.	1. Thornton 2
Members	3.	3.	

(3) EDUCATION AWARDS APPEALS PANEL (3)

(2)

<u>l.</u> <u>Members</u>	Ray Toms (CH)	Janet Cowan	
II. <u>Reserve</u> Members	Ann Groves Thammaiah Anne Whitehead	Mrs Bath Jean Lammiman Vina Mithani	

(4) LICENSING PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

(1) (1)

<u>ı.</u> <u>Members</u> Blann Arnold
Choudhury Mrs Bath
Dharmarajah Billson
Ann Groves Janet Cowan
Idaikkadar Knowles
O'Dell Vina Mithani
Ray John Nickolay

(5) NATIONAL NON-DOMESTIC RATE: DISCRETIONARY RATE RELIEF APPEAL PANEL

Branch

Branch

Miss Lyne

(3) (Pool of Members)

(To be selected from the following nominees)

Blann Harriss
Burchell Mary John
Currie Myra Michael
Ann Groves John Nickolay
Ismail Mrs Joyce Nickolay
Lavingia Versallion

Toms

Anne Whitehead

(6) PENSION FUND INVESTMENTS PANEL (4)

(2)

<u>I.</u>
<u>Members</u> Bluston (CH) D Ashton
Idaikkadar Romain

II.1. Dighé1. PinkusReserve2. Burchell2. Myra MichaelMembers3. Ingram3. Harriss

Harrow UNISON Co-optee (Non-voting): Mr R Thornton [Alternate: Mr J Rattray]

(7) PERSONNEL APPEALS PANEL (3) (Pool of Members)

Jean Lammiman

(To be selected from the following nominees)

Blann Arnold Branch
Bluston Mrs Bath Miss Lyne
Currie Billson
Margaret Davine Janet Cowan
Mitzi Green Knowles

Ann Groves Harrison Lavingia Ray Stephenson

Stephenson Toms

(8) SOCIAL SERVICES APPEALS PANEL (3) or ((2)) (Pool of Members)

(2) ((1))

Blann Myra Michael Branch
Mitzi Green Vina Mithani Miss Lyne
Omar Silver

Mrs R Shah Toms

(CH) = Chair (VC) = Vice-Chair

Denotes Group Members for consultation on Delegated Action and/or administrative matters.